Find Images

- VIA - Harvard's image collections database
- ARTstor - over 1 million images of art and architecture
- American Landscape and Architectural Design 1850-1920
- AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
Subjects & Keywords
Getty Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT): find alternate terms to expand your searching
Sources for Original (Archival) Material
Find Articles

Recommended databases:
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - primary index for architectural journal literature.
- Academic Seach Premier
- GreenFILE
Other suggested databases:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- BuildingGreen Suite - case studies for green and LEED certified buildings
- Art Full Text
- Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
- Business Source Complete
- Architectural Publications Index
Find Books
Use Harvard's HOLLIS Catalog to find books, DVDs, journals, images, and more:
What's the difference? Read more here.
Books and Journals Beyond Harvard
MIT Library Catalog (Barton)
WorldCat: a database of material in libraries nationwide.
Click here for more library catalogs.
- Get It: Options for requesting materials that are either unavailable or currently checked out and options for Document Delivery (includes Borrow Direct, Interlibrary Loan, Scan & Deliver).
Need More Help?

Start at the Services desk during library hours for quick assistance and on-site referrals.
Ask a Librarian - view answers to frequently asked questions..and submit your own.
Schedule a Research Consultation: Contact Sarah Dickinson with a brief description of your topic and times you are available to meet.
Call 617-495-9163
Quick Links
- Tools of the trade: a library starter kit...
- E-research at Harvard
- RefWorks and other citation tools
- Find It!@ Harvard CitationLinker
- Harvard Library Mobile Web
- Harvard LibX Browser plug-in for quick access to full text.
Related Guides
Find Theses
- Last Updated May 23, 2013
This guide offers tips on locating theses and dissertations by Harvard GSD students as well as theses from other academic institutions.
749 views this year
- Last Updated May 23, 2013
This guide offers tips on locating theses and dissertations by Harvard GSD students as well as theses from other academic institutions.
749 views this year
Selected Databases
- Last Updated Sep 17, 2012
This list provides links to a curated list of electronic resources, licensed for Harvard use, and of most relevance to the programs of study at the GSD.
2,599 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 17, 2012
This list provides links to a curated list of electronic resources, licensed for Harvard use, and of most relevance to the programs of study at the GSD.
2,599 views this year

Loading...
